I have a theory that children possess a highly-sensitive, finely-tuned “mud radar” that enables them to detect the presence of mud from quite a distance away.  This radar gradually lessens over time and is at its peak around two and a half.  My theory must be true because I swear, my daughter can find mud in the strangest places!  Her special mud-radar hones in on even the smallest most-remote puddle.  If there is mud anywhere on our property she will find it!  Usually its not such a big deal, but on this particular day a few weeks ago, we were headed to town and I turned my back for a second (a second!!)  and when I caught up with her she was smiling at me from the middle of a puddle.  (That is actually another theory of mine:  how small children have the super-power ability of moving at warp speed when parents turn around and are looking the other way… if you are dubious about this theory, just give it a try! 🙂

  She actually stayed much cleaner than usual on this particular mud-athon… usually she looks like a little mud-monster; however, I haven’t had my camera handy for any of those times, so this one will have to do.  I’m sure it will just be a matter of time before I have another chance to catch the full mud effect!

jo-faces-091.jpg