Another adopting mama had this title on a recent post… and I thought, “Hmmm, that’s interesting… I really haven’t had baby on my brain for a while (I’ve had sweet, little brown boy on my mind, but not baby baby)…  Of course I thought that… and now, of course, I have baby on my mind!

I blame it on these pictures:

baby-092.jpg

img_1592.jpg

img_4261.jpg

img_4583.jpg

Have you ever seen such a deliciously round, bald baby???

Awwwww, gee, they make me miss that tiny little bundle that smelled like baby powder and cooed all day (okay… that’s a stretch.  She actually had severe colic and food intolerances and literally sccrreeeaamed the first six months of her life.  Seriously!  We don’t have a lot of “happy baby Jo” pictures pre-seventh month when we finally figured out what the deal was, switched her to goat’s milk, and re-configured her diet.  She stopped crying overnight and was like a different baby.  I just feel badly that it took us so long to figure it out!)  Still, even with all the sleepless nights and agony over not knowing why she was in so much pain, she was such a precious little bundle.  And the roly-poly, smiling, bald crawler that took her place was the most squeezable thing ever!!  *tsk… now I spend my days saying, “No! don’t throw rocks at the house, you might break a window!! …  No! Don’t “wash” the doll’s hair in the toilet! – yuck!! …  No! please don’t use my comb to brush Sophie’s fur!”  (I’m hoping at least some of you other mom’s with toddlers are nodding your heads in sympathy! 🙂 )

Oh, I AM looking forward to snuggling with Henry and enjoying the last little bit of his “babyhood”!!  I am glad he is still young enough to baby for a while!

Well anyway, I’ve been sorting pictures today, trying to eliminate some from my computer’s storage to free up space… and I have been overwhelmed with mommy-melancholy… “Oh my baby is growing up!!! (sniffle, sniffle)… I can’t believe she was ever that little! (sniffle) … She’s going to be driving before too long! (sniff!)  Yes, it’s pathetic… after all, she is only turning three next month… not thirteen… but it’s good for me to be reflective like this because she has been extra-naughty the last few days (probably due to the change in weather and rain-induced “house arrest”) and it’s healthy to be feeling something akin to motherly affection toward her!  

I also decided to finally load some pictures to my unused flickr account, primarily for our distant friends and relatives (Sabrina, I’m going to add another album with Marble pictures just for you! 🙂  But I figured I might as well add it to my sidebar, so if you want more of those chubby cheeks, just look under the “Baby Jo” album!  (Well, you can just as soon as I figure out how to get the link there!  🙂 )

