We get this question fairly often.  Sometimes it varies and the question is “why adopt internationally?”  “Aren’t there kids here in the U.S. that need homes?”  or maybe: “Why adopt a child of a different race? Aren’t you worried he will have “issues” when he grows up?”… or perhaps: “Why are you adopting a child with cerebral palsy?  Don’t you know how difficult that can be?  Why would you choose that?”

We are getting better at answering these questions (we certainly get the practice!! 🙂 )  We are actually glad for them, because it gives us the opportunity to engage in some deep conversations with people (friends, family and total strangers!) as a result.  Not everyone is in agreement with our perspective; but I think, for the most part, people are genuinely interested and many have had their views stretched and challenged as we talk. 

I realized last week that I should probably address these questions on my blog as well because of the wide variety of people that “drop in” — many of whom aren’t in “adoption circles” or haven’t had the opportunity to hear Peter and my thoughts on the matter. Please feel free to email me if you would like to discuss any aspect of our perspective or if God has been laying adoption on your heart and you’d like more information.  But, since many of you are in the adoption process yourselves, and certainly don’t need my answers, I decided to publish the rest of this post as a page and just link to it here.  That way, if you’d like to hear our perspective, you can… but it won’t take up as much space…  (Read the rest)

